Foundation Phase


The Foundation Phase is the statutory curriculum for all 3 to 7 years old children in Wales in both maintained and non-maintained settings.

The Foundation Phase encourages children to be creative, imaginative and to have fun, making learning more enjoyable and more effective. The curriculum encourages children to learn through play.

This curriculum includes 7 areas of learning:

  • Personal and Social Development, Well-Being and Cultural Diversity
  • Language, Literacy and Communication Skills
  • Mathematical Development
  • Welsh Language Development
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World
  • Physical Development
  • Creative Development